Minimal Isms

On some levels I’m a Victorian tchotchke collector, like, if I had it my way my house would be filled with great little knock knacks here and there and everywhere.[1]  But there’s another part of me that cannot stand the clutter. Like empty a room, put a sofa in the middle with a single book and let the light shine in. But I think there’s something to minimalism. Getting rid of the everythings that clog up our rooms and our life creates space and space is a magical thing.[2] Stark minimalism is an amazing way to exhibit your furniture pieces without choking the room in stuff, showing off clean lines. Those who prefer minimal love white for some reason: it’s sterile for one thing, and really emphasizes space and cleanness.

Minimalism usually applies to color and patterns too. Wallpaper? Forget it. Printed upholstery? You must me out of your mind. Minimalism tends to eliminate art and wall décor as well. And for me, that seems like a blasphemy. But looking at minimalist rooms whose sole focus relies on pure pieces of furniture, solid blocks of color, there’s something to this whole idea of “lacking.” I may not adopt it in my future, but I do appreciate it.

color

coluh

elegant

haha

like

min

minim

not crammed

nothing

purpre

sim

simple

stark

sur curl

totz

white

ya


[1] A la Holman Hunt. Kidding. But seriously that mustache is impressive.

[2] This applies especially to hoarders.

Leave a Reply

